Farmers' Museum

Historic Structures - Dr. Thrall's Pharmacy

Dr. Thrall's Pharmacy

Date: 1832

Origin: Hartwick, Otsego County, NY

Builder: Unknown

Original owner: Thrall, Freeborn G.

Info: Dr. Thrall's Pharmacy is a symmetrical Greek Revival brick structure with three bays. The building originally served as an office for Dr. Freeborn Garrison Thrall. The adjacent garden provides medicinal plants for the Village Crossroads.


Historic Structures - Sweet-Marble Barn

Sweet-Marble Barn

Date: 1803

Origin: Mount Vision, Otsego County, NY

Builder: Sweet, Benjamin

Original owner: Sweet, Benjamin (?-1813)/ Sweet, Philip/ Marble, Dale. R/

Info: This English-style threshing barn has a timber frame construction and three bays. It has a center threshing floor and two side bays, one for the storage of grain and one for the shelter of animals in six stalls.


Historic Structures - Dimmick House

Dimmick House

Date: 1839

Origin: Norwich, Chenango County, NY

Builder: Unknown

Original owner: Hosea Dimmick (?-1889)

Info: The Dimmick House once stood at 21 Mechanic Street in Norwich. It was built in the Greek Revival style and was once the home of a lockkeeper on the Chenango Canal. Currently being restored, the house will depict life in a middle class home in upstate New York.


19th-Century Photography Workshop Offered at The Farmers' Museum

Press Release Category: 
Program and Event Press Releases
Publication Date: 
September 2007
Press Release Contact: 

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y., September 4, 2007—The Farmers’ Museum will offer a one-day workshop on 19th-century photography techniques on Friday, September 28, from 10 am to 4 pm.

Participants will explore the varied processes of photography that arose after its conception in the 1830s. The history of photography, from the camera obscura to the first box cameras, will be covered and participates will create their own sun-exposed cyanotypes during the class (or, if it’s a cloudy day, we will use a light box). Participants will also be shown methods of making transparencies on their modern-day computers that can be combined with historical techniques to create their own unique images at home. Participants are encouraged to bring negatives from home to experiment with techniques during the class.

Kevin Gray, who has been working in 19th-century photographic processes since 2003, will lead the workshop. He received his Bachelor’s of Fine Arts degree at Hartwick College in 2001, and is currently pursuing his Masters of Fine Arts degree at the Art Institute of Boston. His photographs have won numerous awards in local galleries and shows. He also teaches classes on photography at Annie’s Community Darkroom in Middlefield and is the School Programs Coordinator at the Fenimore Art Museum.

The fee for the workshop is $75, materials fee may apply. Advanced registration is required, please call (607) 547-1410 or toll free (888) 547-1450 for information and reservations.

About The Farmers’ Museum
As one of the oldest rural life museums in the country, The Farmers’ Museum in Cooperstown, New York, provides visitors with a unique opportunity to experience 19th-century rural and village life first-hand through authentic demonstrations and interpretative exhibits. The museum, founded in 1943, comprises a Colonial Revival stone barn listed on the National Registrar for Historic Places, a recreated historic village circa 1845, and a working farmstead. Through its 19th-century village and farm, the museum preserves important examples of upstate New York architecture, early agricultural tools and equipment, and heritage livestock. The Farmers’ Museum’s outstanding collection of more than 23,000 items encompasses significant historic objects ranging from butter molds to carriages, hand planes to plows. The museum also presents a broad range of interactive educational programs for school groups, families, and adults that explore and preserve the rich agricultural history of the region, including barnyard activities for children; cheese-making, blacksmithing, and quilt-making workshops for families and adults; and technical workshops for farmers, both professional and amateur.

The Farmers’ Museum’s adjacent sister institution, the Fenimore Art Museum, is home to an exceptionally rich collection of American folk art and American Indian art as well as important holdings in American decorative arts, photography, and twentieth-century art. The museum also offers a range of interactive educational programming for children, families, and adults and organizes and hosts nationally touring art and history exhibitions.

The Farmers’ Museum is located on Lake Road, Route 80, in Cooperstown, across the street from Fenimore Art Museum. Admission is $11 for adults, $9.50 for visitors age 65 and over, and $5 for children age 7 to 12; children 6 and under and members are admitted free. Combination admission tickets that include the Fenimore Art Museum and The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum are also available. The museum is open to the public daily from April through October, with special events throughout the year. For museum hours or general information, please call 1-888-547-1450 or visit


For further information or photographs, please contact:
Christine Liggio, Public Relations Office
The Farmers’ Museum/the Fenimore Art Museum
(607) 547-1472/