Press Release Category: 
Recent Announcements
Publication Date: 
March 2008
Press Release Contact: 

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y., March 26, 2008—The Farmers’ Museum opens for the 2008 season on April 1 for self-guided visits of selected buildings in the historic village and barnyard. From April 1 through May 12, the museum will be open Tuesday through Sunday, from 10 am to 4 pm, closed on Mondays. Summer hours begin on May 13 and continue through Columbus Day, October 13. During the summer season, the museum is open seven days a week from 10 am to 5 pm.

Back by popular demand will be the major exhibition Ice Cream: Our Cool Obsession in the museum’s Main Barn—here, visitors will be taken on a delectable journey through the rich history of America’s favorite treat, Ice Cream. Through historical artifacts, contemporary and historical photography, and a children’s interactive area, viewers will learn about the world’s first ice creams—primitive water ices made with juices and wines circa 336-323 BCE—and their development into the ice cream flavors we enjoy today. The exhibition also features a retro ice cream parlor, where visitors can enjoy their favorite ice cream novelties.

Also on view in the Museum’s Main Barn exhibition space beginning May 13 will be Working the Land: Early Agricultural Tools and Machinery located on the second floor, which looks at the richness of New York State’s farming tradition through an authentic collection of early agricultural implements and equipment. The Children’s Barnyard and Country Fair will also open to the public on May 13.

The Farmers’ Museum’s 2008 season will be in full swing beginning Memorial Day Weekend, Saturday, May 24 from 10 am to 5 pm and on Sunday, May 25 from 10 am to 3 pm. The event brings a plethora of wool-related demonstrations together with the popular Heritage Plant Sale, the premiere of the major new exhibition, Gilded Lions and Jeweled Horses: The Synagogue to the Carousel at the Fenimore Art Museum, the grand opening of the newly renovated 1818 Jonas More House in the museum’s historic village, the unveiling of a new portrait panel of jazz legend Louis Armstrong for the beloved Empire State Carousel, and much more!

The museum ends its 2008 season with its autumn schedule: October 14 - October 31, the museum is open Tuesday - Sunday from 10 am - 4 pm. The museum is closed to the general public in November and December except for special programming and events. Things That Go Bump in the Night Halloween Tours will be offered on October 17 & 18 and October 24 & 25. Thanksgiving at The Farmers’ Museum will be held on November 28 and 29, the Friday and Saturday after Thanksgiving, and central New York’s brightest holiday tradition, Candlelight Evening, will be held December 21.


About The Farmers’ Museum
As one of the oldest rural life museums in the country, The Farmers’ Museum in Cooperstown, New York, provides visitors with a unique opportunity to experience 19th-century rural and village life first-hand through authentic demonstrations and interpretative exhibits. The museum, founded in 1943, comprises a Colonial Revival stone barn listed on the National Registrar for Historic Places, a recreated historic village circa 1845, and a working farmstead. Through its 19th-century village and farm, the museum preserves important examples of upstate New York architecture, early agricultural tools and equipment, and heritage livestock. The Farmers’ Museum’s outstanding collection of more than 23,000 items encompasses significant historic objects ranging from butter molds to carriages, hand planes to plows. The museum also presents a broad range of interactive educational programs for school groups, families, and adults that explore and preserve the rich agricultural history of the region, including barnyard activities for children; cheese-making, blacksmithing, and quilt-making workshops for families and adults; and technical workshops for farmers, both professional and amateur.

The Farmers’ Museum’s adjacent sister institution, the Fenimore Art Museum, is home to an exceptionally rich collection of American folk art and American Indian art as well as important holdings in American decorative arts, photography, and twentieth-century art. The museum also offers a range of interactive educational programming for children, families, and adults and organizes and hosts nationally touring art and history exhibitions.

The Farmers’ Museum is located on 5775 State Hwy. 80, Lake Road, in Cooperstown, NY. Museum admission is $11 for adults, $9.50 for visitors age 65 and over, and $5 for children age 7 to 12; children 6 and under and members are admitted free. From April 1 through May 12 and October 14 through October 31, admission prices are reduced to $9 for adults, $8 for seniors age 65 and over, and $4 for children age 7 to 12. Reduced price combination admission tickets that include the Fenimore Art Museum and The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum are also available. For museum hours or general information, please call 1-888-547-1450 or visit


For more information or images, please contact:
Christine Liggio, Public Relations Office
The Farmers’ Museum
P.O. Box 30, Cooperstown, NY 13326
(607) 547-1472/E-mail: